Tell Me I’m Pretty by Cage The Elephant

Tell Me I’m Pretty is a very interesting album for Cage The Elephant. Frontman, Matt Schultz, stated “With this record, we wanted to be more transparent.  We wanted to capture the sentiment of each song, and whatever emotional response it provoked, to be really honest to that.”

This explains the album title, which shows vulnerability and insecurities. I think this really captures the essence of Tell Me I’m Pretty.

The first single and second track on the album, “Mess Around”, came accompanied with a music video that uses footage from the first feature length film, “A Trip to the Moon” by Georges Melies. I love that they did this, because it shows their true artist roots and their love for arts of all sorts.

“Too Late To Say Goodbye” has almost a haunting sound to it. It captures the trueness of the lyrics.

Now I’m under your spell, trapped in the lie, shouldn’t have stood that close to the fire,
No turning back, no where to run, no where to hide, it’s too late to say goodbye

“Trouble” is probably my favorite on this album. It has everything I am drawn to with Cage The Elephant. It is slow, but still a song to rock out to, and amazing lyrics.

Trouble on my left, trouble on my right
I’ve been facing trouble almost all my life
My sweet love, won’t you pull me through?
Everywhere I look I catch a glimpse of you
I said it was love and I did it for life (did-did it for you)

I love this album. It perfectly fits in with Cage The Elephant’s other albums with its own brilliance.

Listen to it on Spotify now:

 

 

Leave a Reply

