Wiped Out! by The Neighbourhood

Wiped Out! received mixed views from critics. The album starts out with “A Moment of Silence”, which is literally just 30 seconds of silence. 

I’m not a huge fan of this move, it just seems odd to me.

There are only a few songs on this album that seem worth it to listen to. Those are: “Cry Baby”, “The Beach”, “Daddy Issues”, and “R.I.P. 2 My Youth”.

These four songs are very good, but do not hold the same level of brilliance as hits on their debut album I Love You. My favorite of these four songs is “Daddy Issues”, it has a punch once it transitions into the lyrics from the instrumental opening. Lead singer, Jesse Rutherford, sings these few opening words slowly and with sex appeal.

Take you like a drug
I taste you on my tongue

I think the issue with this album is not only the let down from the first album, but the order. Starting the album with “A Moment of Silence” feels like something horrible happened, and that is the vibe going into the entire album, and maybe that is what The Neighbourhood wanted, but it didn’t work.

Listen to the album on Spotify now:

https://open.spotify.com/album/18iFxjZugvKhuNNMbLjZJF

 

Leave a Reply

